Why Somerset County residents should no longer call the Capital Tax Bureau with tax questions


Somerset County taxpayers will see Keystone Collections Group on some tax forms this year instead of the Capital Tax Bureau.

Keystone Collections Group has been appointed as the county’s new local income tax administrator effective January 1. Forms and instructions for the 2021 tax year were sent to businesses in late December and will be sent to residents next week, according to Keystone.

Liberty Tax opens in Somerset: Liberty Tax Service to offer tax preparation and financial services in new Somerset office

Free tax workshop: Keystone Collections Group Hosts Free Tax Workshop

How renewable energy affects your taxes: Letter: I tested wind versus solar for home energy. Can you guess which one was superior?

Keystone is also now responsible for all overdue taxes and certain local utility taxes and certain per capita tax collections for Somerset County.

“Keystone is pleased to serve the taxpayers of Somerset County,” said Joe Lazzaro, Vice President and General Counsel of Keystone. “We encourage Somerset County residents and businesses to file their taxes online using Keystone’s electronic filing system for fast, easy and secure filing.”

The electronic file system is available on mobile devices and desktop computers at efile.keystonecollects.com. Businesses should use business.keystonecollects.com.

Kim Eshelman, executive director of the Capital Tax Bureau, said Somerset County residents with tax questions should call Keystone instead of Capital Tax. Keystone can be reached at 888-328-0565, 866-539-1100 or 724-978-0300.

Capital Tax has also closed its Somerset office. Its other Pennsylvania offices also closed and its headquarters moved to New Bloomfield.

Follow Dylan Johnson on Twitter at @DADylanJohnson and on Facebook at facebook.com/DylanJohnsonDailyAmerican.

Editor’s note: This story has been edited to correct an error.

This article originally appeared on The Daily American: New tax collector for Somerset County


Comments are closed.